What I Read in July!

Hello, everyone and welcome to my pathetic list of the very few books I managed to read in July.

I’m not proud of myself because I wasted a lot of time, but in my defense, I had a lot to figure out this month and it wasn’t the easiest for me in terms of settling in with a few changes and making plans for the next couple of months (very confusing, very hectic but almost everything is set now).

I also did manage to marathon How To Get Away With Murder (the 3 seasons) in like 10 days AND I watched the entirety of Sherlock. I loved both shows very much so if you want me to make a couple of blog posts fangirling over either/both of them, please let me know in the comments below!

divider22

Now, onto the actual books I read this month:

1. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. 22557272

This was a 5-star read for me. I loved this and I know there has been a lot of controversy regarding it but I ended up completely in love with how it all turned out. There’s a full review explaining all the love I have for this and you can click right here to read it.

Purchase this book from Book Depository by clicking here.  (It’s currently on sale for only $8.02!!

divider22

   2. Alfred: The Boy Who Would Be King by Ron Smorynski51wY7eEEbgL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I received an ebook copy of this in exchange for an honest review and the author of this is a sweetheart. The book was so enjoyable as was talking to the author, and I’d definitely love to read it to my kids one day (whenever I have any) and I have a full review discussing how much I loved it here. 4 gorgeous stars for this one!

Purchase this book from Book Depository by clicking right here.

divider22

3. Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen 25855506

I read this in a car ride with my parents on my phone in like 30 minutes. It was so light, fun and SO VERY RELATABLE. 5 stars for this one. I highly recommend it.

Purchase it from Book Depository here.

divider22

4. The BFG by Roald Dahl6319

This was my first experience with audiobooks and it will definitely not be the last. I didn’t know listening to audiobooks can be so much fun. The BFG was SO ADORABLE and I wanted to be Sophie just so I can be his best friend. It was so lovely to read and throughout the entire thing, I was smiling like a complete idiot because it made me feel so warm inside.

5 stars for my first audiobook, my first Roald Dahl book and the book that made me feel most warm.

Purchase it from Book Depository here.

divider22

5. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven18460392

This was my third-time re-reading this book and I don’t even know how I cried so hard although I knew what was going to happen because I had to go through it TWICE before. I cried harder than I did the first 2 times. Ugly sobbing with loud noises and swollen eyes and a red nose. It was UGLY. I won’t even rate this book because if you follow me on Instagram, you’d know this book is my favorite book of all time.

Purchase this book from Book Depository here

divider22

This post was proofread by Grammarly. You can click here to sign up for them and be an amazing writer because it’s a life saver. (It’s free too!!)

Until my next post, stay safe.

-Laila

11 thoughts on “What I Read in July!

  1. I would completely read your Fangirl thoughts on Sherlock 🙂
    Also how amazing is Sarah Scribbles, the physical copy has velvet on the cover so you can feel the jumper. My boyfriend bought me the second book so I can’t wait to read that one. Her art makes me happy.

    Like

  2. I love All the Bright Places. Have you read her newer book Holding Up the Universe? I adored it almost as much as this book.

    Like

    1. I read Holding Up the Universe and gave it 4/5 stars. I had a few problems with it as the way Libba was bullied for her weight was a bit triggering, but it was really beautiful nevertheless! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

