BOOK REVIEW: The Cure by Jake R. Knight

Hello everyone! I’m here today to review my first ever read novella!

*Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.*

untitled-21

Welcome to Metravā.
The year is 3433.
Here are some things you need to know:
Run by the governmental body, Peār, Metravā is inhabited by U-mans, a genetically modified race of humans who do not sleep, who work fifteen hours a daāy, and who are fused with their U-chip at birth.
Everyone is the same, everyone blends in, and no one stands out.
That is until Knijä Taū is born.

divider22

This novella has all the elements required to get someone’s attention.

One, the cover is very simple, very photogenic and it catches the eyes. The moment I saw some of my favorite bookstagrammers showing it off, I knew I needed it in my life.

Two, there is no love interest in this book. It all focused on Knija and the love she had for her family and her best friend, and that alone made the story a million times better. She was independent, smart in her decisions and she didn’t need anyone to make her feel any more or less different. She already has a whole package of qualities that made her stand out and she definitely knew her place.

Reading a novella for the first time was quite an experience. I love how Jake managed to provide all the necessary details and give full sense to how everything worked out in the end, without leaving any missing strings or unsolved details, although I wanted to see more of what life was like after The Cure, where everyone gets so disoriented and how they’ll deal with the ending of the book.

The way some of the words were written definitely got on my nerves in the beginning, but I got used to it halfway through. Now that I’m done with the book, I think the way even the writing was different, it added a certain feeling to the book that made it feel a lot more unique.

This story was all about reminding me how beautiful it is to exist and be different.

My sole conclusion is: Perfection is boring.

I love love love The Cure and I highly recommend it to each one of you guys if you ever need a light read that also makes you think about life.

divider22

Overall Rating:

4/5 unique stars.

Until my next post, stay safe.

-Leila

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: The Cure by Jake R. Knight

Leave a Reply

